5 Stone and a Helluvalotta History to Lose

Katy_the_kelt

Hi there, name's Katy and I'm a 20-year-old student.

I've always been big, so like most big girls I was really badly bullied (still taking anti-depressants for stuff that happened years ago) and basically being fat is ruining my life: I am too insecure to go out shopping with friends, I push myself so hard to over-compensate that I've been in hospital 2 weeks this year with depression and exhaustion, I have really strong paranoia that people are talking about/laughing at me, been in abusive relationships because I had no self-worth and, the list goes on.

Ironically, apart from being fat I have a really good life - loads of friends, nice university, lots of hobbies etc. But I have a really silly problem, hoping some people can relate:

I am really nervous about both losing weight and failing to. If I fail to lose weight then I'm in this horrible rut forever and if I do, then I'll be under a lot of pressure to sustain it, and I get panicky at the thought of people saying things like "You look so much better" because it'll affirm my fears that they've been saying/thinking I was fat and unattractive all this time.

I'm a little under 16st, so I really do want to lose 5 stones all in all, though I'm prepared for it to take awhile. I'm also worried because I've had eating disorders in my early teens and I never ever want to be like that again.

Sorry to ramble, can anyone relate or offer advice?

Take care, and good luck to everyone! Katy x

Welcome to the boards, Katy. It's great you are thinking about this at your age. I wish I had!

I practiced (out loud and in private!) saying thank you (and nothing else...) so when people say 'you've lost weight'. It helped me feel Ok about it.