Addiction to exercise...

hayrae

So I am not good at taking rest days!! It's something I really need to work on! But I just love working out. I go to lots of classes and If I could fit anymore in I would. Recently I've started to suffer with fatigue, I don't know if I was hydrating myself well enough and as a result I ended up with a kidney infection. I also struggle to eat enough to fuel my body to cope with the demands of exercise. I took two days off work and 5 days off the gym and I'm easing myself back into the gym... But man am I suffering!! I see my gym instructor who teaches 28 hours of classes a week and just think 'how does she do it?' Any advice or tips? Anybody else addicted to exercise? Hayley x

lots of sleep, relaxation, good healthy food and water, and heavy days and light(easy) days, and if you can a rest day. Also instructors are really used to the work.

I love exercise so much it ended up being my job. The key is to work out smart rather than every day. You need a programme that will work out different areas of your body each day so you're not over loading yourself.

Rest is as important as working out as that is when you body repairs all the damage the exercise has done which us what improves your fitness levels and strength. Without the rest one is just hammering oneself and getting worn out.

As you are such an exercise fan I would take it to the next level and get a programme constructed that will allow you to work out different body parts each day to ensure no one part gets too fatigued. Some gyms do this as part of the package they offer, or it might be worth paying a PT to structure a proper plan for you (usually the cost of one PT session). It would make working out more effective.

I totally understand where you're coming from though, I was/am just the same. Been injured since last August and I'm climbing the walls waiting to get back to it!