Am depressed today - weight has crept up and I can't seem to budge it this time

Seraphine

Hi all

I have been bouncing for months, but today I weighed myself and I've gone up to 180. I just can't seem to get it under control this time, and I'm really panicking. I've been doing low carb for 2 years, but always tend to fall off the rails during holidays. But I've usually been able to get things in check once I get home.

I've been having asthma trouble since January and started taking steroids. I'm off them now, but I feel like I'd put 5 pounds on each course I took, and now these pounds just won't budge. I can be good for weeks and it just doesn't shift. Which of course tends to lend me to pigging out on things I know I can't have.

So now it appears I've put on about half the weight I fought so hard 2 years ago to take off. I lost 50, and have put 25 back on. I'm feeling sick and disgusted with myself. I have a big family reunion coming in July, which is now just around the corner, and I really am worried about how I'm going to get back on track in time.

I've got food panic this morning - I don't want to eat anything. I'm doubting myself and whether or not I need to try something else (not low-fat, but am wondering if a shake plan will snap me out of this funk? I need to stop thinking about food so much, and maybe should I just take it out of the equation for a while?)

My husband just started Atkins this week and has been having a rough time - he's not happy, but I think he's realising that it's still easier to live with than a lot of plans (although he misses fruit, and worries about what it will be like for business travel... that's usually his downfall). He asked me yesterday if I needed a change as my weight has been creeping and he's worried about me and how upset I get.

I don't know what to do from here.