Another new member

Lozzo

Hello there!

Just wanted to say hello. I have been dieting for 2 months now, since i was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. Going well so far but i hope i can get some continuing inspiration from existing members.

I am currently living in Hong Kong but i am a British expat ( and maybe coming back to the UK in a year or so ).

Having read quite a few member stories before deciding to register, I am in awe of how well many people have done and i wish everyone success with their own weight loss journey!

Thanks..:D

Lozzo

Last edited:
Hi Lozzo! Welcome to the forum. Yes, a lot of inspiring stories are here. How are you coping with the diagnosis? I hope you're doing okay. Is there an existing diet program that you follow?

Hi desperate2Bslim. Thanks for the welcome!

Yes, as i am slowly learning about, diabetics do need to watch their diet more stringently i guess. Its not only about losing weight but avoiding sugars which may spike their blood sugar level, or eating enough to keep the blood sugar level high enough to be normal.

This basically means watching your carbs. Simple cards ( sugar, glucose, dextrose, sucrose and the rest, white breads/rice/pastas, some fruits ) are all simple carbs i believe and should be avoided. Eating complex carbs which have little or no impact on the blood sugar are much better. Of course, a healthy diet which can reduce weight ( and also blood pressure ) are also required. Many people also monitor the GI ( glycemic index ) of foods they eat, again to avoid the spikes in blood sugars. All of this has the additional effect of, hopefully, helping with weight loss. Its a tricky path to navigate but i think most diabetics cope with it and get more control over the disease and their general health into the bargain.

I will be hanging out in the diabetic section i guess, but will definitely be following the general weight loss forums as well.

Best wishes!

Lozzo

hi there!