Can't live without ...

northern_m

Hello, I'm new to this (and I'm a bloke) and could do with a little help ...

Are there any things that people can't live without? I mean, are there things that I should always have in that are free or have a low syn value?

Any suggestions would be great as it's taking a while for me to get used to the ins and outs of the programme.

Welcome new bloke too (sorry for pinching your line sausage !!).

very low fat total 0% (free) or 2% (v low syns) yoghurt or v low fat fromage frais - I use them to make sauces creamy. Got bored of tomato based sauces quite quickly and this means that I can make sauces that are free/low syns that keep me interested and I couldn't have otherwise.

Good luck.

Gail x

Welcome to the forums - I'm pretty new myself but I've never come across a more helpful bunch of people! :D My list is similar to Allie's

Fresh:
Onions
Garlic
Potatoes
Peppers
carrots
tomatoes
mushrooms
stirfry veg packs
spinach
Cauli
apples
bananas
oranges/satsumas

Tins:
Chopped Tomatoes
Baked beans
mixed beans
kidney beans
tuna

Chilled:
Eggs
Low fat cheese/ laughing cow spreads
Passata
ham
semi-skimmed milk
Shape zero yogurts
mullerlite yogurts
crab sticks

Groceries:
wholegrain Rice
Pasta
Weetabix
Oats so simple
Ready Brek
Coffee
Vodka
diet pepsi
sachets sugar free jelly
quick soak mushy peas
mixed pulses
oxo/chicken stock cubes/veg stock cubes/hot pepper sauce/soy
Frylite
curry spice mix from local asian supermarket
scan bran

Frozen:
Chicken breasts/strips
Extra Lean Mince
Lean Bacon
prawns
Ham shank
summer fruits/berries

I'm not always very organised but I was determined to make it so I had no need to head for 'bad' food on this diet! The fridge is bulging and the freezer is full of homemade soups/curries/chillis etc. I'm loving it!

most of what others have said and pineapple :)