Extra Easy Crumpets why so many syns??

gizlin

I am new to slimming world and to MiniMins and hope to meet many new friends on here. I have just started SW and wondered as crumpets only have 84 cals and 0.4 g fat why they make up so many as 4 syns each?? Can anyone help?

gizlin said:
I am new to slimming world and to MiniMins and hope to meet many new friends on here. I have just started SW and wondered as crumpets only have 84 cals and 0.4 g fat why they make up so many as 4 syns each?? Can anyone help?

Bread products (such as crumpets) don't qualify for any free food allowance so you have to syn them one syn for every 20 calories.. This is because they are primarily flour (which is always synned) and don't have enough fibre to be a hexb choice..

Hope this helped :)

Welcome :)

Its because they have no free food in them and most people would need to eat 3 to fell vaguely full, and be hungry an hour later. Plus there's the stuff you put on top to make them taste nice. Do the maths :) 3 crumpets, 270 calories, jam on top (the lowest syn thing I canthink off) another 60 calories. For the same calories, you could have a 3 egg omlette, 2 grilled flat mushrooms & 2 grilled vine tomatoes.

SW is all about encouraging you to eat low calorie, filling foods, that keep you full.

kingleds said:
Welcome :)

Its because they have no free food in them and most people would need to eat 3 to fell vaguely full, and be hungry an hour later. Plus there's the stuff you put on top to make them taste nice. Do the maths :) 3 crumpets, 270 calories, jam on top (the lowest syn thing I canthink off) another 60 calories. For the same calories, you could have a 3 egg omlette, 2 grilled flat mushrooms & 2 grilled vine tomatoes.

SW is all about encouraging you to eat low calorie, filling foods, that keep you full.

Sorry - posted at the same time - and yours was a much more detailed answer :) x