Extra Easy Friend in Slimming World.

amemay

I'm sorry to be posting this here, I'm not entirely sure where it needs to go. I'm new to all of this!

My name is Ame and I have been going to Slimming World since August last year. So far I have gone from 13st3.0lbs down to 10st10lbs. I still have a way to go but can not fault Slimming World at all.

I have an issue, that I don't know how to approach.

My friend, we'll call her Jane, saw my success and decided to join SW with me. She joined at the start of December. Jane is a large lady and would not mind me saying it. Her first weigh in put her at 20st8lbs. She set a target to lose an amazing 5st. Since joining, and attending most weeks and staying to group Jane has lost 2lbs total.

Jane doesn't actually do SW, she hasn't admitted it but treats SW as a little bit of a joke. She'll joke at group and say she's eaten a tub of cookie dough, Birthday cake, take out etc. She laughs it off every week.

It's Janes life, and Janes journey and I love her, which is part of why I see an issue. Jane has diabetes, and sleep apnea. Sitting next to her she'll drop to sleep in the middle of a conversation and she sounds like she can barely breathe. I am genuinely concerned for her health.

Our SW Rep is my absolute hero. I think she is brilliant, kind caring and such an inspiration. But even she, is questioning why Jane is attending at all. She gets quite firm and tells her what she is doing is not on plan. She's used kindness as an approach too but nothing seems to be sinking in for Jane.

I don't know if I should be doing more as her friend and the only one that actually seems to care in her life at how dangerous her weight is. I just would like some advice really. For the first time since I started I've not been wanting to attend and cringe at Janes lack of caring.