Gemma's diary to slimdom!

Gemma79

I will do this!
Hi all - thought I would start a diary thread to keep me on track and share my story.

My name is Gemma, I am a social worker who loves my job, supervising foster carer's. I am married and have 2 wonderful sons, Ethan aged 3 and Harrison aged 8 weeks!

I have been overweight my whole adult life, I'm now 31. In 2009/10 I went on Lighter life, a meal replacement diet, and lost 6 stones. For the first time I was slim and healthy and I felt great. We decided to have another baby when I hit goal and so that contributed to me changing the rules and eating everything I could! I put on 5 stones of the 6 lost during my pregnancy. I learnt a LOT during LL, I found the therapy really helpful and the quick weight loss was fantastic, I never cheated once and loved my journey. I have decided not to take this route this time, as I want to try to put into practice the things I have learnt, so far so good, lost 8lbs in 3 weeks which suits me! I don't want to be a fat mum, this is my inspiration, the same the first time. I was horrified after I saw the picture of me at my son's 1st birthday and that was what inspired me to change, his 2nd birthday I was at my slimmest and love looking at those pictures!

I have xenical, trying to stick to the 5% rule as much as possible and really enjoying it so far. I feel this 'diet' isn't really a diet, but a good way to live and eat. I love cooking and so am enjoying trying out new, tasty things. Such as sweet potatoes, roasted in the oven with carrots and onions, yum!

I have also joined the gym 1 week ago and am trying to go as much as I can get a babysitter while I am on maternity leave, I'm back at work 5th Sept so really want to make a dent into this 5 stone by then!

I am using my fitness pal app, I have found that to be amazing and keeps me on track. I've read a lot of your threads too and they are helping to inspire me.