Low GI newby with M.E.

SHOLMAN

Hi Guys,
Thought I would post on here, as I originally posted on the newby forum.

Well Hello everyone :)

I am relatively new to low GI, and I am trying my best, but I thought you guys would be able to point me in the right direction.
I have been diagnosed with M.E. for about 4 years now, and I was previously advised to try low GI, however being young and immature I quickly gave up on the diet. After having a rough period, and I have looked into it abit more and it seems the best option. So far it seems to be working, as I have had less dramatic lows etc, however I am still having a few issues.

Well some info which may help you help me...

I am a PCSO for the police, I walk all day every day, working 7 days on before having rest days (others with M.E will find that hard to believe it has taken me an awful long time to get back to this point).
At work I have access to a microwave, toaster and kettle on meal, that is it.
I don't get breaks, but can hide snacks in my body armour...
I can't drink alot while on duty as it makes you need the loo, and we don't get much chance to go. This is because we walk the streets and there is not may places to stop, or that we trust to stop. Also If we are on a job or scene guard, it's tough, you just have to wait until the job is done (really)

Currently I am between my parents house (I moved back home after splitting up with my ex as it was the best option) and my other half's house (hopefully by the end of this year we will have a house together). Both my parents and my partner are very supportive and helpful.

Ok, so they are the reasons I am struggling, I can't really plan to much, and both houses arn't massively geared up for me, but they are gradually changing. Most of what I eat has to be quick and easy, and snacks have to be easily mobile :)