Mental health advice

livi

Committed Loser
It's not for me, it's for my soon to be mother in law who in the last 18 months has become virtually unrecognisable. She refuses to leave the house, wash, cook, clean, iron, watch tv, eat or anything. She eats one meal in the evening (which she picks at), is severely underweight (gone from being quite plump), confused when spoken to plus a million other things. The doctors have come out and said they can't do anything without getting her tested but she refuses to leave the house. I don't even know where to start looking for help :(

I do not know what to say to you. I have no experience at all in this area.

Your MIL sounds very sick indeed. Surely someone can do a house visit.

The poor woman needs help and fast.

Have you been in touch with an of the societies or agencies that deal with mental health issues.

It sounds as if she is clinically depressed.

I am sure we have members on here who work in the mental health arena. I might be wrong but I remember seeing several entries from people who might be able to advice you.

hugs to both you and her.

It is ridiculous that the doctors wont do anything without getting her tested. They could get a psychiatrist to come out to her house to see her if they just put their minds to it. Its not rocket science. They could, being as her welfare is in danger, get her sectioned under the mental health act if she will not voluntarily seek help herself. Keep pushing them to do something.

Contact your local branch of MIND and ask them for help - they provide help and support for people with mental health problems and they would be best placed to advise you on how to get her the help she clearly needs.

Please let us know how you get on.