Newbie Question?

willybob

Hi Everyone, I am new to this but I was hoping for a bit of advice? I have started dieting on the 1[SUP]st[/SUP] of Jan and I am not following any particular diet, I am just using the my fitness pal app on my phone to count calorise. I am 33 years old and my start weight was 15st 7lb and my target is to get to sub 13st. I have been nervous about dieting before as I didn’t think I could do it but I am not sure why but I am finding it really easy. I am eating around 800-1000 calories a day and doing 20 mins execise as well as drinking 2-3L of water a day and I have lost 4 lbs in the 1[SUP]st[/SUP] week.

My worry is I am doing something wrong as I am not feeling hungry while eating so few calories, has anyone else had a similar experience and should I try to eat more?

Thanks
Will

Hi Will

Welcome! My Fitness Pal is amazing isn't it?!!

Well done on your loss so far. To be honest I think 800-1000 calories is far too little for you to have on a daily basis. I would try to eat at least between 1500-1800 just to be sure you aren't harming your body and that you are getting all the nutrients you need. What kind of things are you eating? :)

There is loads of info / calculations out there on working out the optimum calorie allowance for a particular persons weight loss (gender/level of activity/age/height etc etc) but I find it all quite confusing. Have a little explore around and you may be able to get a clearer picture.

Hey there! Well done for making the decision to to get healthy.. And you've had a great kick start : )