Nice to meet you!

CaliSweden

Silver Member
Hi everyone nice to meet you! I live in Sweden, but I'm originally from California. I offically switched over to the GI diet yesterday from the Swedish diet LCHF (Low Carb High Fat). I'm pretty new to GI. I've searched the internet like crazy to find everything about the GI diet. But found that the info was confusing to me, and so I ended up reading a Swedish book on the GI diet and method. Now it makes a whole lot of sense.

Here in Sweden I noticed that they tend to blend GI and LCHF. People who do GI will mix in LCHF meals, since LCHF meals have low GI. To me it doesn't make sense since LCHF is all about low carbs just like atkins, and GI from what I read is about exchanging high GI for low GI, having lots of fibers, and eating lots of vegies and fruits. Or maybe I read the book wrong???

So I figured why not check out how other people in the world are doing their GI diet, and hopefully I can learn from them to do it properly:)

The reason why I stopped doing the LCHF diet was that I became really tired of eating fat and meat. I like fat and meat, but not when I'm forced to eat it all day long, and pretty much limited to it if I want to lose weight. I was doing 20g of carbs a day in order to lose weight. This meant that I was very limited on what vegetables I could eat, and fruits were a major no no. If I had too much tomatoes or onion I would go up in weight because of the carbs.

I'm more of a veggie and fruit person, meat's okay in a ok size portion. I also stopped LCHF because I developed a rash all over my body. The doc said that it was most likely caused by a weaker immune system from stress on the body or mind. They asked if I have eatten or done anything new or different recently, and the only thing new was the diet.