On a mission to get fit for Cancer Research!!

Surzy

Fat Fund-raising Fanatic
Hello :)
Newbie here - I've stumbled across the site a few times in the last few weeks looking for recipes for SW!!
A friend has convinced me to join!!

So .... after many years of being lazy and content i have decided to change my life this year.

Test 1 - lose some weight ...
Test 2 - Walk a 13 mile night-time Cancer Research event without dying!
Test 3 - To fit comfortably into an aeroplane seat when I go on my honeymoon to Oz in December!!!

So thus far I have lost 16lbs in 3 weeks! Which I am over the moon about!!!

Last edited:
The full story ...

OR

- How a fat woman walks 26.2 (and a bit extra by the looks of it) miles and survives with a little help from her friends and some complete strangers....

Ok then so our story begins in January 2011 - when in a fit of fatty rage I signed up to take part in Shine London 2011 to help me stay on track with my weight loss and raise some money at the same time.

I originally signed up to do the half marathon distance - as I felt this to be the most sensible option for a woman who has done very little exercise in the last 10 years!!

Then stupidly in March - I upgraded to the full Marathon distance. So I stepped up the training.

Thankfully, a band of other merry competitors had gathered on twitter and very soon we had created #twittershineteam, Nancy, Janine, Richard, Craig, Kate and myself. However as the date came closer a few extra faces appeared to swell the ranks - including Phil, Becky and Louise.

Throughout the period i was sporadically posting my sponsorship link (Shine - Surzy's Fundraising Page) and many generous people gave Cancer Research some cash in return for the promise of my effots in October.