Slow progress

VikkiBG

Hi,

I am new to the group, but at 40 years old, I am not new to life....however, I find that clearly I don't know much about weight loss. I am constantly considering whether to join Slimming World, but am put off by spending money to lose weight....I should be able to do this right???

I started going to Pilates regularly in November and am finding that my shape is really changing. What with 2 alcohol free months (October, and currently dry January) and other changes such as now drinking soya milk, eating soya bread and lacto free cheese, along with cutting out crisps etc I would've thought that these changes would've seen a marked reduction in my weight, but they have not. Since last April when I came home from my holiday in Majorca at way overweight, I have managed to lose approximately 10lbs. I walk the dog frequently and am an active person at work (as a teacher I am on my feet a lot!)

So what is it I am doing wrong? I was reading a post on here earlier (which I now can't find) that not eating very much is going to slow down the weight loss process as the body is storing food or something like that? I don't eat very much at lunch times when I am working as I am often trying to get my marking done so I don't have to bring as much home or I am in meetings. Sometimes I will have a bowl of soup, or I might only get to grab a snack a jack or 3!

I really only want to join a slimming club as a last resort - not because I don't approve but I can't justified that expense to myself in addition to the regular pilates classes. I really would like to lose at least 1.5 stone (possibly 1 stone 10lb?) and I am going on holiday to Majorca again in April so would really like to lose as much as possible by then.

I would very much appreciate any responses. xxxxxxxxxx

Hi Vikki.. Welcome to the forum. Well done on doing the Pilates that's a very good start to aiding your weight loss.