Supermarket meat moan

hendopig

Gold Member
Moan coming up!

Either something's changed or I've suddenly become a food snob?

I shop in Sainsburys normally and noticed a few months ago that there was so much liquid coming out of chicken breasts when I cooked them, it really put me off.

Anyway, around that time, I walked past our butchers in town and they has 5lb of chicken breasts for £14.99. I wasn't sure if this was good value or not as I'm not very good with lbs and oz's. I bought them anyway and ended up with 10 big, thick skinless chicken breasts (worked it out after, just after 2kg.)

They were pretty clean and didn't need much prep, I was also pleased that they came out of the oven the same size they went in; very little liquid had come out. Also, they still had the mini fillet attached which supermarkets now sell separately. I now buy all my chicken breasts in the butchers.

I'd love to buy all my meat in the butchers but I've got a couple of factors that stop me.

1: my freezer is full and you don't tend to get use by dates in butchers - everything says use within 2 days but I wouldn't be able to

2: my butcher is so miserable and moody! I am too worried to ask him the fat percentage in his extra lean mince! (Yes I know this is pathetic but it is what it is)

3: unless there is an offer on, you don't know how much it will cost until they've got it on the scale, by which point i would be to embarrassed to say no thank you (again, I need to man up but I find it nerve wracking)

Anyway, I got up this morning. Got my 'be good to yourself' bacon medallions out the fridge, cut the extra bits of fat off that we're still there and slapped them in my new non stick pan. This was what happened :

image-895049528.jpg

image-783182949.jpg

Lots of skanky white stuff and watery stuff. At that point I just wanted to chuck it in the bin. This has basically made me think again about the meat I eat and what happens to it during the butchering / packaging process.