Very Sceptical about LT :/

HappyNoodles

Gold Member
Hmm I'm sure I'm going to be hated for this, but I'm getting very sceptical about LT, having done it and lost 8stone at least I speak from experiance.
I put back on 5st within a year and always blamed myself for not sticking to a ridged strick diet afterwards but it seems anyone i speak to puts the weight or most of it back on?
My doc has said it's proven after 3years 90% of people will have regained all and possibly more than they lost :O
I'm sorry for this as I know it's hardly motivating but I'm just so dubious now.... any opinions?
Please don't have a go, just voicing my concerns?
xxx

Hi daisyhappy...glad you posted this to start the conversation going......I was concerned last week and posted asking for info on keeping weight off........it does seem that a lot of people regain their weight ....I have never done TFR before so would love info from experienced members who have kept the weight off.....I do wonder is the real reason behind so many regains the fact that people eventually return to old habits ......as the LT literature says obesity does not go away it goes into remission and needs to be carefully monitored......I for one know that when I reach my goal I will have to watch and count carefully and of course exercise and treat food as fuel / a medicine almost and monitor my dosage....in my opinion it will be necessary to change food from a drug type addiction to a carefully measured medicine ......sad I know but this is the metabolism I've been born with and it simply doesn't suit the current western diet...if it was another illness/disease I would have to do same .....but I've lost weight and regained many times before on ww so only time will tell...I do intend to keep a daily diary as I think I need a behaviour shift to ensure I don't start to slide ....... it is amazing how we can fool ourselves and hide the truth from ourselves...think of all the times we've avoided the camera or the full length