Newbie here

nicki210179

Hi all, I've heard wonderful things about this site from various sources so I thought it was about time I joined :D

My name is Nicki, 33, and I'm a single mum to a hormonal tween daughter who is 11 next month, from now on referred to as L. I've re-prioritised my life over the past few months and decided that I was juggling too many things so I've given up half my commitments (all self imposed!) and I'm now concentrating on my health to ensure that I get to see my daughter turn 18 because the way my health is I won't see it :eek:

I've been overweight as long as I can remember and have tried various "diets" or healthy eating regimes too many times to count since I was about 11! I have scoliosis and although it doesn't really effect my everyday life (except standing for long periods gives me terrible back ache), when I was a teenager I had to wear a back-brace for 3 years and was told I wasn't to do ANY sport at all, and shouldn't even walk long distances. I was told I needed to loose weight though, but try telling that to any teenager and get them to listen :8855: I didn't change my eating habits, I stopped doing PE in school and although I walked to and from school every day I gained a lot of weight. Most annoying though was the week before I broke up for study leave for my GCSEs at 16, I was told by another doctor that I should never have been given that advice and I should have been doing PE all along as the treatment I'd been receiving had made no difference at all :mad: I've been battling to loose the weight ever since :eek: