Anyone else trying to do SW on a student budget?

bumblebee1990

Hi

I'm a full time student living away at university (but do manage to get home quite a lot), and whilst I do have a well paid part-time job, I'm mindful that I have to stick to a reasonably low food budget. Are there any other full time students out there doing SW? How do you manage to get diversity into your diet whilst sticking to a budget? I have around £25 a week to spend on food.

I'm not a student, but I am mindful about what I'm spending my money on. I'd suggest looking at somewhere like Lidl or Aldi, you'll find shedloads of good quality fruit and veg in there for a really reasonable price. I think I've seen some threads on here about Aldi/Lidl equivalent of Mullerlights too.

If you've got access to the SW website, they do have some of the syns online for Aldi and Lidl branded foods.

Personally, I find the meat in Lidl amazing for a fraction of the price I'd pay in one of the main supermarkets.

I would recommend markets as well the fruit veg and fresh meat you can get is very good both in choice and in price

Hiya, im a ft student and doing ee/green. I shop mostly at lidl and buy the veg that is on offer- they have good frozen superfree too.
The ff yoghurts are half the price of mullers, think they are all 0.5syn or cherry is free.
I dont really eat much meat by my OH says its nice!
The tinned stuff is cheap too- mushy peas, chopped toms, mixed beans etc.
Agree with the above re local markets too- I try to go on a Thursday and gets two bags full of fresh veg for £4-7.
Hope this helps! Its so frustrating that unhealthy foods are so often cheaper..
Rosie x

Hi,
Just had my last exam! Still only working part time though so being mindful. I am also trying to do it for £20-£25, but I'm doing mostly red days as I'm a massive meat eater. Any tips appreciated!