How do you deal with excess skin

wenc63

Hello everyone,

I am new to this so if I am in the wrong place please forgive me.

I have lost 8 1/2 stone in the last 2 years. I had a massive hernia that needed to be operated on and to do that I had to lose 7 1/2 stone. I did it and they did the operation. I am still over weight but now that the hernia has been removed I have a huge amount of excess skin hanging from my lower tummy. I have tried Shape wear to support the mass but my skin works its way out of the leg holes and so I am wearing to sets of underwear to control it. I really want to keep losing weight and to do this I need to exercise but the skin makes it really hard.
The Dr who did the hernia repair said that I need to have the excess skin removed but, As we all know, they won't do it on the NHS.
Has anyone got any advise on how to cope with it please?

Thank

Hiya! I'm sorry to hear you're having these problems. Well done on the great weight loss though! I too have lost just over 8 stone in the last 20 months, so I know how great it feels - congratulations!! :) How did you do it? Have you pursued it with the NHS about skin removal? I know they won't do it as a matter of course, but surely if you had a hernia which has led to excess skin there must be an argument on medical grounds? I know it's not easy, as they're so pressurised for funds etc., but it may be worth seeing another doctor. Sorry I can't be much help, but just wanted to say well done anyway. :) xx

Seeing as the nhs have just given a girl a boob job coz she was unhappy with her flat chest u can argue ur case. Excess skin can cause irritation and nasty sores so it's a Medical reason. Good luck! You've worked hard u deserve it xxx

Nicki xWx said:
Seeing as the nhs have just given a girl a boob job coz she was unhappy with her flat chest u can argue ur case. Excess skin can cause irritation and nasty sores so it's a Medical reason. Good luck! You've worked hard u deserve it xxx