Syns - how to calculate?

Mulan

Hello, I'm new to slimming world and I have no idea how to calculate suns and no syn foods, could anyone enlighten me?

Many thanks.

If it's a food that has no free food component (e.g. crisps, chocolate, biscuits, non-diet fizzy drinks, etc) then it's roughly 1 syn for every 20 calories. There are a few exceptions but this works about 95% of the time in my experience, and it should never be higher than that so you're pretty safe to use that method. Round to the nearest half syn, or 10 calories. So as an example, a 94 calorie chocolate bar would be 4.5 syns where a 97 calorie one is 5 syns.

It gets more complicated for anything that has some free and some synned foods (e.g. some flavoured yoghurts, restaurant/ready meals, sausages and other processed meats, fish/meat/veg in sauces, some tinned goods, etc). Have you joined a group/online, or at least have a set of books? If you're a member you get full access to the syns database on the website but the books will have syn values of common items in the back. Recommend joining a group if you can, if only to get the new member talk and current books. There was a free join voucher in Bella magazine last week, may still be on some shelves - pretty sure I saw a copy when I was shopping in M&S today.

Last edited:
Hi swlaurenb,

Thank you for the advice, that makes it a bit clearer for me :)

I joined a club last night, I've just got to learn differing food combinations and recipes without going over and using too many syns :)

Hi welcome along to minimins.