Food on the go - help! I'm a Newbie :)

Tetris

Gold Member
Hello MiniMins!

Today has been my first day with SW on Extra Easy and I've found it a breeze!

However, I had the day at home today so my slight concern is: What happens when I'm out of the house?!
I often work awkward hours on location (as a filmmaker) and usually rely on snacks like crisps and cereal bars to keep me going as they're a quick reach when I don't have much time to eat on set.

Other than fruit, what is quick and easy to pack for a lunch on the road/out and about? Things that can go several hours without being in the fridge would be a bonus... I'm looking for alternatives to wholewheat sarnies as I'm a huge breakfast person and love scrambled eggs on toast and cereal so recon on most days I'll use my HEB's in the morning!

I figured Pasta salads in tupperware's etc will work, but am looking for ideas I can either grab ready or prepare in a few minutes if possible, (for when I'm leaving the house on short notice, but mainly because I'm not the most organised person and tend to always be running late :p) though I guess I should be getting into the spirt of preparing the night before?

Well- any suggestions would be great! :eek:

Many thanks...

x Sophie

What about savoury rice, they're really handy. Just cook it the night before (takes minutes) and pop it in a tupperware box ready to grab on your way out the next day. You can add your own veggies to it to bulk it out a bit (and incorporate your 1/3 SuperFree!) and even pieces of chicken / ham / etc.

You could make some homade soup and take that with you in a food flask so that it stays warm until you need it. You could set yourself a day where you make up a big batch of soup - it will keep for days in the fridge and you can just refill your flask as and when you need it. There are loads of gorgeous recipes on here for different soups.