cant do this anymore :(

jools1986

Silver Member
Well I have been struggling and gaining weight rapidly since about feb now and I keep trying to claw my way back to atkins but clearly it is not working for me anymore :( I am finding it stressful and getting more and more depressed about my expanding waistline and seriously need to find something I can get along with. At the moment I am a student on summer holidays and struggling to find work so I am LOW on funds and also I started a new relationship which means I am now splitting my time between 2 places making it even more difficult.

I desperately need to get my mojo back before I end up back at 20 stone

Good luck to all of you xxx

Aw no, sorry to hear that you're finding it so hard Jools. And yeah, Atkins isn't always easy when you're on a tight budget - I totally understand that!

Maybe your are also putting too much pressure on yourself - although it's easier to say than do, don't worry too much about the scales reading at the moment, and concentrate more on eating the way that you want.

If you continue with Atkins, just try and take one day at a time. I find it very useful to try and plan ahead a bit as well - that way, you're not caught off guard and don't end up eating carbs just because you're starving and there's nothing else. Also, if you plan and maybe get slightly more creative with your meals (there's loads of great recipes and links to sites on here) it should be easier to control the budget side of things - for example, using cheap cuts of meat, bulk buying and freezing food, and buying more seasonal produce.

If you are finding this such a struggle, you could also consider switching to a different diet which might suit you better? I personally love this way of eating - even though I've only been doing it for a few weeks and have struggled at times (esp as my progress feels very slow), I have felt so much less deprived than on previous diets.