Is Slimming World Online a bit of a con?

Soupy

Hi all,
Newbie here :jelous: and new to Slimming World. Just signed up a few days ago and feel that there's nothing really much on offer in terms of continuous support and interaction. I was expecting some sort of an online forum, regular emails or even a weekly online meeting but it just seems to be a case of 'here's the info and the lists- no go ahead and do it alone.'
There's no accountability like in a physical meeting and no one to discuss your progress/weaknesses with. Am I missing something? Or am I expecting too much?

You're right, I was disappointed too and it's not cheap. I think weight watchers is a lot more geared to this but I prefer the SW diet. I ended up joining a meeting.

Last edited:
I agree. It really doesn't offer much. Group meetings are great and well worth the money but if you're doing it yourself at home, the online subscription's really costly for what it is.

I have done both sw and ww and sw online is not a patch on ww. Sw really need to take some tips from ww website. It's disappointing when you pay all that money. I have cancelled my membership and I now do it from home and have just started on this forum which is very informative.

Do you think it would be a better idea to switch to a local meeting?

To be honest, it's at a very inconvenient time for me, which is why I opted for online subscription. I thought it would be a good alternative but it's just a fraction of the service. Feeling disappointed now.

Regular meetings with weigh in accountability and group support are probably the best way to go in my personal opinion. However its its difficult why not go along to a meeting once or twice to buy the books and have a consultant properly explain things to you before deciding if you think you can “go it alone” (with minimins) or not.

Do you think it would be a better idea to switch to a local meeting?