Just want to lose a few pounds

Vetlet

Hi everyone,

I'm new to MiniMins, so I thought I'd introduce myself and see if I can find some like-minded dieters :). Basically, I'm not medically overweight (my BMI is in the upper half of the "normal" category") but I have put weight on over the last couple of years, and I'd like to have a few less bulges than I currently have! So I only need to lose a few pounds to half a stone max to be back to a shape I'm happy with. However, I've found it very difficult to shave off the relatively small amount of fat I've gained just by generally eating healthily and trying to be active. So I think I need to start a more strict diet to reach my goal. I don't have a set of scales, but as my goal is mainly about looks I'm just going to go by my body measurements.

Some people I know seemed shocked when I told them I'm starting on a diet, because they don't think I need to lose any weight. But this is about me having confidence in myself, and my thinking is that if I used to be thinner, there's no reason why I shouldn't be that way again, and I certainly don't see the point in waiting until I'm officially "fat" to start losing weight. I'm not going to do anything drastic, just watch my calories and eat a healthy balanced diet. I'll try and up my exercise too once I've got the hang of my diet.

Anyway, I'm hoping there's some other people out there in a similar situation to me - either almost at their weight target or starting at a lowish weight. If there's a thread on this already someone please point me in the right direction :)

Hi there,

I fully understand. I have a stone to lose having always been slim. I feel though massive and yucky. I have 9 weeks to my holiday and WILL lose a stone. Do you want to join me? People are shocked but they don't see me naked and I am now in size 16 clothes when I normally take an 8 to 10,

Liz xx

Hey Liz,