HELP! Keeping the weight off!!

and

Silver Member
So as some of you may know I've been doing VLCDs on and off for the past 3-4 years.

I started at about 14-15 stones (I forget now) and stuck to LT for 5 weeks and got to round the 12 stones mark.

Now here comes my issue. I've never put THAT weight on again but I've done VLCDs about 5-6 times since. The lowest I've been is round the 10.5st mark. My goal is 9.5 stones.

Every single time I stop I go back to 12-12.5 stones. I just can't seem to keep the weight off. I have zero self discipline. I have joined a weight management class that starts next week but am still worried. So in the last 3 years I've yo-yoed between 12.5 and 10.5 stones every few months!

Tips, hints... HOW can I stop eating so much when I am not dieting? I really want to learn to maintain. This is a huge issue for me and it's starting to get me down.

HELP PEOPLE!

I think when you stop any diet you have to start a new one (sort of), the new diet being calorie and portion controlled, but rather than thinking of it as a diet you just have to think of it as a lifestyle change. Have you thought about slimming world or something like that? I think there is even a specific 'maintaining' slimming world forum on here. They teach you portion control, how to eat healthy, while also still having treats once in a while without going overboard. It soon becomes just healthy habits that become ingrained in you and after a while it really doesn't seem like a diet at all, it just seems like you're making better, healthier choices. Maybe the group meetings would keep you on the right track, getting weighed each week with everyone can be a good motivation. I hope whichever weight management class you have chosen works out for you. :)

Thanks, that's not a bad idea. :)