Not enjoying groups

emmalolz

Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to SW and been going to meetings for about 8 weeks now.

There's a group of girls at the group that give great advice and support to members, they shout it out in group and the lady running it is always saying how supportive they all are.

However I noticed they only do this to the largest members of the group, never the smaller ones. One week I sat next to them and was talking about my hopes and aims for the week and I saw them all rolling their eyes and heard one mumble that if she was as "small" as me she'd just be grateful.

I feel really belittled now and haven't been to group since. My weight loss has stopped now, I think I've even put some on because I just can't get back to group since that. I thought groups were about supporting everybody, and we all have our own journeys. I realise my starting weight might be other people's target weight, but that's not my fault! I'm overweight, I'm unhappy, I'm unhealthy and I want to change.

Has anyone else had similar experiences or was I just unlucky? I do want to go back but not sure how to get back into it. I can't talk to the leader either as she's constantly saying how proud she is of this group for being supportive, so she won't believe me and I don't want to cause issues.

Keep at it! You chose to join up because you were unhappy with your weight. Don't worry what anyone else says or thinks (they're only jealous and wishing they were as 'slim' as you. Remember, they too are feeling bad about their body image) turn it round and offer them ideas that you've tried. Don't let them push you out, you have just as much right to feel better about your body as they do.