Induction Stalls & Weight gain

allybally

Hi I've been doing Atkins on and off for the last 10 years or so and one thing I would love to understand what foods or drinks stall me. I have lost weight on this diet last year for example I lost 26 lbs throughout the year despite having a few breaks for holidays and special occasions. This year I've started the year a stone lighter and since the beginning of January I've lost 6lb and despite sticking to diet rigidly I've added 2lbs in the last 3 weeks. I stick to around 20 carbs a day and for this month I've had no diet drinks , alcohol and cut down my coffee. I do take a lot of cheese and cream and take splenda in my tea or coffee and on Strawberry's when I have them. Has anyone worked out which foods stall them ?

Well done on the weight loss you're already achieved - that's great!

You say you have "a lot" of cream and cheese - how much? Because overdoing cream and cheese will certainly cause weight loss to stall - the latest Atkins book recommends no more than 115g of cheese and 45g of cream per day on Induction, so if you're having more than that, that might be the problem.

As to how you find out what foods you can and cannot tolerate, that's where Phase 2 (Ongoing Weight Loss) comes in. It's a painstaking process but you have to work your way through all kinds of different foods, one at a time for a week at a time, to test how they affect you. If weight loss stops for a significant period, then you know to leave that food alone. (that's a very sketchy description of OWL, btw - really best to read the book!) :)

Thanks for the advice Scrumbles. I have been eating a lot of cheese and cream so I am going to cut them both out for a week or so to see if his makes a difference. I will then try a little of each gradually to see if that makes me stall.