Vegovis' Vegan Venture

vegovis

Hello :wavey:

I'm Vegovis, I'm vegan, and I'm bloomin' well going to succeed in finally re-educating my eating habits!

I've been dieting on-and-off for many, many years; not necessarily because I've been overweight but because I grew up with a parent who was constantly rotating through cabbage/Cambridge/F-Plan/Jenny Craig/<insert just about any other diet plan here>. As a result, I don't really have the healthiest of diets and certainly not a particularly healthy outlook on food.

I've been vegetarian for all of my adult life, and vegan (ethical) for the past 4 years or so. I was overweight not so long ago, and after embarking upon WW online I went from around 12 stone down to just under 10. I used to like WW because it was easy to log foods using the iPhone app, but I did find it quite restrictive and not particularly the healthiest option for a vegan as pulses were relatively high in points.

My mother has recently lost 4 stone with SW (she goes to classes, and is now almost at target weight from her 15 stone starting point), and has (hopefully) at the age of 70 finally beaten her diet demons! I've never known her to be so happy on a 'diet', nor in fact to actually be on one which works for her! I also have two good friends who've lost an incredible 10 stone between them (so far), so SW definitely comes with glowing recommendations!

I won't be going to classes as there are none near me at a day/time that suits, so my mother has sent me her old SW books, and I've ordered the set of three SW 2012 food directories online (eBay daylight robbery I know ...). I've also got the brilliant 'Appetite For Reduction' by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, which I've heard is mainly low- or no-syn so I look forward to making up some interesting recipes!