Hello! Newbie here!!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by ClaireLouise, 15 September 2009 Social URL.

1. ClaireLouise

ClaireLouise Member

Hi everyone. My name is Claire and I am 21-years-old. I have been lurking on this forum for quite some time and am really impressed with the results everyone has achieved. Well done to each of you.

The reason I have joined is to ask for some advice really. I am at breaking point over losing weight. I am 5'1 and weigh (when I was last on the scales approx 4 or 5 weeks ago) 12 stone 10 lbs. I have a cross trainer which I bought at the end of June this year and have been using it regularly for approx 7-8 weeks. I go on it for half an hour Sun-Thurs. I find it extremely difficult though. I calculated my heart rate to be 130 (I don't know if that is correct or not) and do manage to stay above that rate. However, I cannot see weightloss results. People say they can but I cannot see it. I still look the same in my opinion.

Am I doing anything wrong? Should I stay on the cross trainer longer? Should I incorporate any other exercise regime? Pilates/yoga?

I am a very shy person, lack confidence and have started to see a Therapist who has confirmed that I suffer from a mixture of things, such as social phobia, Body Dysmorphic Disorder and depression and would therefore find it extremely hard to join a gym to use the equipment or to go swimming in fear of people and how they perceive me, so I do not wish to go to a gym and wonder if there is any way I can lose weight and tone up without having to go down that route? I would like a flat belly and a slimmer bum. I have contemplated liposuction.