Newbie and struggling...

cbear11

Hi everyone!

I'm another newbie and I must admit I've never done this before. I don't normally speak to people about my weight because it embarrasses me, but here I am hoping for some support.
I've struggled with my weight all my life. I currently weigh 14st 10lbs but I'm also a type 2 diabetic and need to get my weight down to control my sugars better.
I've been at the gym 5 days a week now and I'm seeing absolutely no improvement. I eat pretty healthily but my problem is that I really hate a lot of food that's actually good for me!
I have a wonderful husband who would do anything for me, but he has the appetite of a horse and barely ever gains weight. He's joined the gym with me too and he's looking amazing while I feel worse and worse every time I go.
My motivation is slipping away and I'm starting to feel really down. Does anyone have any advice? :(
Xx

I'd recommend reading through some of the success stories on here. They are really inspirational and you can follow people with a similar background to yourself. :)

What kind of foods do you dislike? I used to be a super picky eater and I've improved massively lately. I did it by including one item I didn't like (for example cabbage) when making a soup or a stirfry. Eventually you can get to even LIKE the foods you once hated! SERIOUSLY!!! I know it's hard to believe. I'm not saying you have to like everything - for example, I HATE mushrooms and just can't get used to them!

How long have you been going to the gym? Fair play to you! You've started and that's the hardest part. Exercise is important but diet is critical when it comes to weight loss. I used to think my eating habits were grand but it was only when I started properly researching nutrition and then sat down with a dietitian I realised how bad it was!

And stick with this forum, I only joined on Friday and I love it! It's a great community :) Full of info and inspiring stories and people. Great motivator!!!