Emmy_lu

Silver Member
Hello everyone need lots of help and advice, I'm totally new at this and although I've looked up lots on the net, I am still waiting for my book to arrive. Ive previously been on lipotrim with its a total good replacement diet, i lost 4 stone but not im only a stone and a half away from my target i would like to do a diet where i can eat but still stay in ketosis which is why ice picked this one. from reading your threads your all doing great on it so id like to give it a try.
I have some questions for my new atkins buddy's

I know that more or less its all meat veg and salad but do I count calories? And what's the carb limit per day? Can I have a dash of milk in coffee and tea? I've downloaded my fitness pPlato help me with carbs ect

sorry for all the questions I just really really want to get this right

Thank you in advance

emma

Hi Emma and welcome :wavey: and really well done on your 4st loss so far! It gets a bit quiet here on the weekends, but there will be lots of people come by to say hello soon :)

1. Calories - ditch the thought. The thing that makes low carb work is a high level of good fats, plus protein plus carbs. I know it flies in the face of everything you're probably used to but it works.
2. it's recommended that you start on induction which is 20g carbs a day. A lot of people (including me) use my fitness pal (or Plato, as your phone would say! lol) to log the details of menus, and the approx %ages are 65% fat, 35% protein and 5% carbs - that will give you about 25g carbs a day, so just keep an eye on it. It's designed to help you flush out carbs, and get you understanding how tolerant you are to certain foods. So while it might seem a bit harsh at first, it's not forever - and is designed to help you to an eating plan that is for life :)
3. If you've been on an VLCD you may gain in the first couple of weeks, but it will come good - so don't panic!