Doesn't include sugar puffs, you have to have the unsweetened cereal because obviously sugar contains syns.
Add Splenda to your puffed wheat though, and hey presto, Sugar Puffs!
Sarah Jayne, I wouldn't syn the cereal if I didn't have my scan bran. Same as I wouldn't syn my slices of bread if I was too full to finish the crusts or wouldn't syn my cheese if I only used half of it, or wouldn't syn my milk if I had a couple of cuppas' worth left at the end of the day.
I personally don't syn my healthy extras if I don't eat it all, like for example I have just had 28g of porridge and I'm supposed to have a scan bran with it. But some consultants say that you should. I guess all it means is that I'm not getting the full quota of fibre that a HE B should give me. However, my theory is, with all the healthy fruit and veg I will be eating today, I'm sure I won't be short of any fibre!!!
I sometimes save my scan bran for after tea, put it in a cup, put some hot water on top, mush it up then add an Options and whack it in the mike for 1 minute, take out, stir and whack back in for another minute.
It gets rid of the scan bran and it's like a branny chocolately pud for after your dinner. Follow it with a big glass of water before bed and it gives you a little 'fat flush' effect for the following morning!
Puffed wheat would be good to snack on wouldn't it? I mean, you could put it in a bag and eat it dry, just for something to nibble on. I'm kinda thinking, like mid afternoon when I'm bored at work and just want to EAT something....anything!!!!
Yeah if I have scan bran in, I'll use it as part of my HE B, I don't deliberately not have the full quota. Infact I usually just crush it in with the oats, add more water and it makes more breakfast!!! But I also don't worry if I don't have it!!!
I think if you're veggie and not vegan hot choc are ok. I couldn't see any of the meat-derivative words (locust bean gum, gelatin etc) on the packet, so maybe it's just the dairy derivatives that make them unsuitable?
Had a peep on the Options sight, it says the hot chocolates only are unsuitable due to the amount of whey powder used.
Looked it up on the Veggie Society:
Whey - Whey and whey powder are invariably by-products of the cheese making process which mainly uses animal rennet though vegetarian whey is widely utilised in products marked as suitable for vegetarians