Seeing GP- advice and your experience needed

jrswife1

Hi there,

I was diagnosed via blood tests in 2010 with PCOS but at the time the GP told me I basically had to live with it. I was a student at the time and didn't think much of it. My cycles were erratic and i have the dreaded facial hair! After loosing a stone my cycles became regular again and I thought maybe the PCOS had resolved itself.

However, hubs and I have been trying for a baby since last October and no joy. I have not put the weight back on so it can't be that. My cycles had settled down but in January they became erratic again. I went to the Dr and she said to come back in a few months if cycles were still odd. They are so I am going back tomorrow to see what they can do to help. I have started on Weight watchers as I am overweight and know they will tell me to try to loose weight.

I have beeen reading that people were given ultrasounds and metformin when diagnosed.

What is your experience? Did you have to ask for medications and ultrasounds? How helpful or otherwise was your GP?

I have moved since my original diagnosis and have a new GP who seems very nice.

Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated.

I'd suggest you stand your ground and make sure that they do confirm whether or not it is PCOS.

If it is, ask them you need clear guidelines on how you can reduce/treat your symptoms.

Losing is the best thing to start with for sure.

Thanks. Gp was really supportive. He is starting off as though I've never been diagnosed. He is sending me for bloods then we will go from there. He doesn't think my weight is the problem as I have lost weight which regulated my cycles, not put any on and they have gone odd all of a sudden. However, I do still need to loose weight fir general health and if we need fertility treatment my bmi needs to be lower.