Seriously considering getting a puppy..... Advice needed!

chickadee83

Silver Member
Hi everyone,

For the past 6 months or so my partner and I have been talking about getting a puppy. I have always had pets growing up and am a real dog lover, my last dog was a cross lab/ collie and was just the most loyal and playful dog ever :) we are considering a lab and although I am no expert in the breed I have spent time researching the breed and know the pros/ cons. We are both in a situation financially where we can afford for jags, insurance, food, bedding, toys etc. I would also be looking to have the dog trained as I know labs respond well to this. We both love being outdoors so the dog would get lots of exercise. It would also get an endless supply of cuddles and attention :)

My major concern is that we both work full time as teachers and obviously don't want to leave the dog at home alone. Our plan is to drop the dog off at my dads( who is retired) he would walk the dog and look after it during the day and I would collect it after work. It would spend roughly 8 hours with him five days a week. We would have the dog evenings, weekends and holidays( which us teachers get quite often!) we are looking to buy the dog during the Christmas holidays so that the first couple of weeks is spent with us and we can toilet train etc we would let it meet my dad in this time also. I wonder if anyone is in a similar situation and how it works for you? This is a decision I do not want to make flippantly and ultimately the welfare of the dog is paramount. I know a dog is a commitment for the next 10-15 years and I am completely ready to make this commitment.

Advice/ thoughts needed please :)

Going to view a lab pup tomorrow :)

Hey hun,