Slightly O/T but I'm looking to start a vegetable patch and need advice. HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Cambridge Weight Plan' started by kellymundy, 1 June 2008 Social URL.

1. kellymundy

kellymundy Gold Member

Start Weight:
    20st9.5lb
    Goal Weight:
    10st0lb
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    Like I said I'm looking to start a vegetable patch, partly to cut down of food expenses (when I'm eating again that is!) and partly to give me something that needs physical exercise as a hobby when I'm done.
    The problem I have is that I'm a total novice with gardening, nevermind growing vegetables! Does anyone have any tips as to what someone who doesn't know what they're doing should attempt to grow to start with that's easy and rasiliant (sp) as I have a habit of trying to run before I can walk on everything?

2. Avatar

MiniMins.com Matched Content

3. cah-ching

cah-ching Gold Member

Hi there,

Recently I've started taking more interest in gardening. My only real foray into the 'green fingered' world was to successfully grow tomatoes (which are REALLY easy).

What can I say except buy the seeds and a bag of compost and follow the advice given on the seed packet. It seems to have worked for me so far - my seedlings have come up a treat over the last 7 days.

4. spooky

spooky Banned

5. crazyjane

crazyjane Unzipping the fat suit

Start Weight:
    19st10lb
    Current Weight:
    19st5lb
    Goal Weight:
    11st6lb
    Lost(%):
    0st5lb(1.81%)
    Diet:
    Cambridge Diet
    beware, its addictive! we started out small last year and now I have 4 raised beds, 15 large terracotta pots and 4 troughs and I still want more! great quick growers to get started with are spinach, cut and come again lettuce, rocket and radishes - all of which can be grown in tubs if you have little space and will save you a fortune if you buy bags of salad. There is nothing quite as delicious or nutritious as picking your own baby leaf salad and eating it minutes after picking!

Good luck!