Im a little bit curious!

Discussion in 'Slimming World Off Topic' started by Viixenx, 25 November 2011 Social URL.

  1. Viixenx

    Viixenx ~*Here I go again on my own*~

    Posts:
    338
    Likes Received:
    9
    Diet:
    Slimming World - Extra Easy
    Id like to get to know you all a bit better, so if you work, where do you work, and do you enjoy it? and was it what you wanted to do originally?

    I work in a library, its a lovely job sometimes. Its deffo not the direction I wanted to go, but im happy I made the decision to give it a go.
     
    Last edited: 25 November 2011
  2. Avatar

    MiniMins.com Matched Content

  3. MissSlinky2011

    MissSlinky2011 Silver Member

    Posts:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    2
    Start Weight:
    19st5.5lb
    Current Weight:
    17st1lb
    Goal Weight:
    12st0lb
    Lost(%):
    2st4.5lb(11.97%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I work for the nhs with people who have learning difficulties and physical impairment and I love my job. It's rewarding but sometimes very difficult. I often come home bruised or with a new bald patch but its part and parcel of the job lol.

    My degree and masters degree however is in theatre and performing arts. Random change or what Haha.
     
  4. MadameLaMinx

    MadameLaMinx Gold Member

    Posts:
    4,109
    Likes Received:
    216
    I don't work at the moment, long story, but I used to be a youth worker and prior to that a carer for adults with severe learning disabilities.
    Nowadays Im a lost 38 year old with no personal identity, long term depression and little hope of changing the situation I am in. Sorry if that sounds a bit bleak and defeatist but thats the reality.
     
  5. speccyblue

    speccyblue Full Member

    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Start Weight:
    17st5.5lb
    Current Weight:
    13st4lb
    Goal Weight:
    11st0lb
    Lost(%):
    4st1.5lb(23.61%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I work as a Housekeeping Supervisor to a team of 20 in a large shopping centre. I was a secretary up until about 2 years ago before a series of awful jobs put me off going back into the office. I love my new job, it keeps me busy and I've lost over a stone since getting it as it's quite physical.
     
  6. kingleds

    kingleds Gold Member

    Posts:
    5,816
    Likes Received:
    82
    Diet:
    SW all the way
    I work as an account manager in IT sales. I like it mostly, but not the people I do it for. I have a degree in Politics (which qualifies you to do nothing btw). If i could change career right now, I would be either a history & citizenship teacher, or I would work for an NGO (like the UN, Red Cross etc) in Africa. That would be about as different to selling your soul to corporate america for a paycheck as it could get I reckon.
     
  7. X Kelly X

    X Kelly X Silver Member

    Posts:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    3
    Start Weight:
    21st2lb
    Current Weight:
    21st2lb
    Goal Weight:
    11st7lb
    Lost(%):
    0st0lb(0%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I work for a water company in the south east of england.
    Ive had a lot of jobs since ive been old enough to work and I always thought i wanted to be a chef. I went to college did 4 years of training did the job and hated it. lol. I love cooking at home just not for a company lol. I used to be a carer too from the elderly, learning disabilties, physical disabilties, challenging behaviour and mental health.
    My job now is very different to my past jobs but i really like it and love the people i work with.
    I have no idea what I want to do for a career though- always wanted to do something with dogs but theres not alot out there- esp less that pay well enough. lol. Ill keep plodding along until I find myself at some point. Im in no rush, Im only 24. :)
     
  8. Sinead6uk

    Sinead6uk Bread is my enemy!

    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Start Weight:
    14st0.5lb
    Current Weight:
    13st11.0lb
    Goal Weight:
    11st7.0lb
    Lost(%):
    0st3.5lb(1.78%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I work for the NHS as an information analyst. I like it because I work with a really good (mostly) team of people.

    however I have a degree in criminology and wanted to be a probation officer - turns out if id have just left school and started there i would have done better - experience goes a lot further than degrees in those types of jobs. oh well! :eek:
     
  9. cupotea

    cupotea Full Member

    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    2
    Start Weight:
    16st12lb
    Current Weight:
    16st12lb
    Goal Weight:
    16st0lb
    Lost(%):
    0st0lb(0%)
    Diet:
    Dukan
    I don't work at the moment, I'm a full time English Lit and History student at University, and I'm loving it!
     
  10. meadowbankles

    meadowbankles Silver Member

    Posts:
    600
    Likes Received:
    5
    Start Weight:
    13st10.0lb
    Current Weight:
    12st12.5lb
    Goal Weight:
    10st7lb
    Lost(%):
    0st11.5lb(5.99%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I wanted to teach English and I've ended up working in financial services. I do enjoy my job and love the company I work for.
     
  11. Taniau

    Taniau Silver Member

    Posts:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    2
    Start Weight:
    11st1lb
    Current Weight:
    10st12lb
    Goal Weight:
    9st4lb
    Lost(%):
    0st3lb(1.94%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I work for a software company as a product manager (my self proclaimed title is Product Manager - New Product Development). Mostly we're re-doing a whole bunch of software to make it modern and useable.

    I have a geology degree which is useful because that's the industry we're making stuff for.

    That being said, I think I'm burning out of this place, it's probably time to move on or do something different. I'm thinking of Real Estate Appraisal.
     
    Last edited: 25 November 2011
  12. Sassia

    Sassia Silver Member

    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I work with high risk violent and/or sexual offenders and lifers.

    Sent from my Desire HD using MiniMins
     
  13. lucyc35

    lucyc35 Full Member

    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I trained to be a hairdresser/beauty therapist at college years ago and thought that was what I wanted to do but I work as an IT support team leader for a worldwide logistics company. Like the job and love the people I work with.
     
  14. xMandyDx

    xMandyDx Determination is Key

    Posts:
    2,024
    Likes Received:
    13
    Start Weight:
    18st0lb
    Current Weight:
    14st7.0lb
    Goal Weight:
    9st1lb
    Lost(%):
    3st7lb(19.44%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I'm a stay at home mum. I have worked in all sorts of places. Factories, a slaughter house lol, a newsagents, a clothes store. I've been a receptionist, a stand-in columnist for a newspaper, and an I.T. Facilitator...which just a fancy way of saying I taught people how to use the likes of Word, Powerpoint, etc. as well as I.T Theory and whatever else they needed to pass the E.C.D.L. exams.

    Hard to believe sometimes that I'm not yet thirty, and left school at the age of fifteen! When I was 21 I went back and got the equivalent of my Leaving Certificate and went on to do some Fetac exams and the like.

    What do I really, really want to be? A writer of Fantasy & Sci-fi. I wrote some fiction for the Irish Cancer Society, when they had a mock wedding to raise funds. It's just too hard to find the time required to finish my book lol

    What does everyone expect me to be? A singer. My mother has been asking me for years to give X-Factor a go and I think once I reach target and feel more confident in myself that I'll do it for her.
     
  15. chiefbridesmaid

    chiefbridesmaid Silver Member

    Posts:
    836
    Likes Received:
    14
    Start Weight:
    15st11.5lb
    Current Weight:
    12st4lb
    Goal Weight:
    10st11.5lb
    Lost(%):
    3st7.5lb(22.35%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I work as a Retail Manager, I studied business and leisure in college, became a Personal Trainer & worked for 4 years, got injured & put on loads of weight ;( lost my confidence so started climbing my way up to management level of a leisure center.

    I then decided to change careers altogether & got into retail management which is definitely my calling in life, I really love my job & now I've lost all my weight I am considering taking on a few Personal training clients in the new year :)
     
  16. fillymum

    fillymum synful soul

    Posts:
    8,316
    Likes Received:
    161
    Start Weight:
    107kg
    Current Weight:
    85kg
    Goal Weight:
    79kg
    Lost(%):
    22kg(20.56%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World

    Gosh Sassia that sounds dangerous !!!!


    I buy and sell antiques and love it but at my very advanced age have done all sorts of things including trolly dolly (stewardess) owned a promotions company, owned a satellite t.v. company, written for a magazine, been a travel guide here in Spain, worked as ground staff for KLM........oh so many things but always running in tandem with all these things bred my lovely, lovely horses.
     
  17. vicky1804

    vicky1804 Full Member

    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    1
    Start Weight:
    15st10lb
    Current Weight:
    11st9lb
    Goal Weight:
    10st7lb
    Lost(%):
    4st1lb(25.91%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I'm currently a receptionist/administrator in a community centre and I love it. Iv previously worked for about 10 years in call centers and absolutely hated it. In the end it made me really ill.
     
  18. Avatar

    MiniMins.com Advert

  19. Sassia

    Sassia Silver Member

    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    It's not really. A few hairy moments, I suppose. Very interesting work, but long hours and the stress triggers loads of comfort eating!

    Sent from my Desire HD using MiniMins
     
  20. evilpenguin

    evilpenguin Not evil at all

    Posts:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    25
    Start Weight:
    21st12.5lb
    Current Weight:
    19st10.5lb
    Goal Weight:
    16st6lb
    Lost(%):
    2st2lb(9.79%)
    Diet:
    Back to Slimming World
    I used to be an admin officer in the civil service but I left to study biology! So no job just now, not for lack of looking for one though. Can't wait til September when I'll get proper student funding at uni, none of this college bursary nonsense!!
     
  21. big bear

    big bear A bear on a mission!

    Posts:
    2,611
    Likes Received:
    28
    Start Weight:
    14st7lb
    Diet:
    slimming world
    I'm an administrator for a charity that deal with young people who have alcohol & drug problems.

    I have a BTEC in Leisure & Tourism but I never really knew what I wanted to do. I moved to London 14 years ago & started off in call centres for British Gas, a debt collecting company etc I then was an administrator in the NHS, then a PA for Sure Start (now children's centres), a team secretary for a construction company had my son & went back part-time as a senior administrator for the National Blood Service. Then I had my daughter & started my current job the end of June.

    I love my job & I'm going to get the opportunity to do talks to the young people about the affects of drink/drugs & maybe become an outreach worker eventually. LOVE it XX
     
  22. Shirleen

    Shirleen Gold Member

    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    64
    Start Weight:
    21st12.5lb
    Current Weight:
    21st4lb
    Goal Weight:
    12st0lb
    Lost(%):
    0st8.5lb(2.77%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    I'm a Support Worker working one to one with a Severely Learning Disabled Man, I love my job, only went for it in desperation and expected to hate it!
    It suits my bossy personality!
    I worked for Post Office Ltd for 10 years the last two as PO manager and it nearly killed me!
    Prior to that I worked in shops, factories (the best was the chicken factory, great laugh), waitressing, bar work, PR, Nanny, at age 14-15 I had my own babysitting franchise, I was in such demand I took on staff!
     
Popular Forums
  1. MiniMins.com is a weight loss support community helping each other on their weight loss journey. We have a multitude of forums, from Slimming World and Exante, to Success Stories. Click the logo at the top right to return to the forum home page at any time.
Loading...