Oatbran and more!

GrumpyWino

Hello All, another newbie here,

Saturday will be the end of my second week of Dukan, and so far so good, not entirely sure of the weightless as I'm only weighing myself once a week, although my first week I lost 4lbs, including two attack days (as per dukan website recommendation). Already some trousers that didn't do up at all now do up which to me is a better sign than anything the scales say!

For over a year I have been eating low carb as I found that what I call 'obvious carbs' like bread, pasta, potatoes cause me terrible stomach pain, bloating and a frightful time on the toilet! Just cutting those out caused a lot of weight loss along with improved energy and all round better health. However, a recent two week period of intense stress lead to missing a lot of meals, then hurriedly eating crisps and a few takeaways lead to me piling on the weight - literally from a size 12 to bursting out of a 14 in two weeks! So, I thought Dukan looks good for the long term weightloss, I'll give it a try. And so far so good. But. Oatbran. Yep. For the first week I religiously had it in my yogurt (I don't actually like pancakes, biscuits, or muffins) but Oh my word, the diarrhoea!!!! I hoped it was just the change in diet, as I had obviously cut out fat. I cut the oat bran out for the last two days and my bowels are back to their usual happy ways again!

One thing that has rarely been a problem for me is constipation, probably because I am a regular runner, do yoga and Jillian Michaels dvds. An hour of yoga will clear me out a treat! So, just how important is the oat bran? I really cannot tolerate even the small amounts Dukan insets upon.