Scooter...

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by icemoose, 1 April 2007 Social URL.

1. icemoose

icemoose The Diet Guy

Diet:
    Don't diet anymore!
    I am thinking of getting a little 125cc scooter to go to work on parking at the hospital is a nightmare now and I drive a big 7 seater tank all of 2 miles everyday there and it takes me 20 minutes.

Anyway has anyone got a scooter? What should I be looking for? What does it cost to insure? Are they fun to drive? etc etc.

I have seen a site that sells them brand new for 699 quid and they look ok but I am totally new to bikes having only ever driven cars before.

Ta

Mike

2. Avatar

MiniMins.com Matched Content

3. sonkie

sonkie Gold Member

Goal Weight:
    12st0lb
    Diet:
    measure up
    Hi Mike, Im sorry but iv never ridden one, but im sure they must be fun, and easy to monouvere

4. HelenG

HelenG Member

Start Weight:
    22st3lb
    Current Weight:
    21st8lb
    Goal Weight:
    14st7lb
    Lost(%):
    0st9lb(2.89%)
    Diet:
    Dashed good question Jeeves!
    Pros & Cons

Pros - Far less Road Tax, Insurance, running costs etc.
    Nippy (? mine was restricted to 30mph)
    Less stress on the legs than a bicycle.

Cons - Realistically having to wear the correct clothing - leathers in hot
    weather!
    All those hugely stressed four-wheeled vehicle drivers that
    DON'T SEE CYCLISTS & SCOOTER DRIVERS until they are
    plastered over the front of their vehicle!

There's also this argument, if you are only travelling 2 miles, why not walk? It'll soon only take you 30 mins to do that far and will only cost you shoe leather

Last edited: 1 April 2007
  5. Brad0053

Brad0053 Silver Member

Two wheels are definitely better than four Mike.

I confess I don’t know too much about the 125cc market as it has been a while since I had something like that. However, production has come on a lot so, I am sure they are both nippy and reliable.