Newcomers Diary

Hi all,

i have been having a look at everybody else's diaries and they seem like a really good idea! This is my first time on a VLCD. Im doing the Sole Source programme on the Cambridge diet, i currently weigh 253lbs on my councilor's scales. I reckon i have around 8 stone to lose.

Today was my first day and it was easier than i was expecting. I had my first shake at 10am at work, it was chocolate mint flavour. I think because i didn't have a mixer or proper whisk it was slightly lumpy but not undrinkable. I have also managed to have 5 ltrs water so far and will aim for another 500mls before bed as i am starting to feel very hungry.

I managed to then last til 2pm before having a spicy tomato soup with a tonne of tabasco and pepper, it was a strange taste, almost sweet, but again not uneatable.

Finally after fighting off cravings on they way home (the little devil on my shoulder was telling me one little bit of food wouldn't hurt but i figured if i was going to do it i may as well do it right) i had a butterscotch shake for dinner. I made this in the blender with ice which made it a lot nicer than the breakfast one.

Im not sure what im going to do tomorrow as i don't know whether its worth having the slightly nicer shake earlier and being hungrier earlier or just waiting and attempting the hand made one again?

Overall i am utterly shocked that i have lasted a whole day and barring some slight hunger pains i have come off relatively unscathed! Saying that all i have thought about all day is food, though my councillor says that you end up dreaming about food so im looking forward to that :p

Any advice or comments are very welcome as i say i'm still new to this and i think the more advice you have about things the better!