SW - Why are mashed bananas syn'd?

Discussion in 'General Weight Loss Discussion' started by squash&squeeze, 21 February 2011 Social URL.

1. squash&squeeze

squash&squeeze Member

Hi,

I'm new on here and just finding my way around. I'm also fairly new to slimming world, have been at it about 5 weeks and lost 8lbs so far! however I was just on the website looking at the 'Ten ways with Banana's' feature and noticed that mashed bananas appear to be 4 syns per banana. Can anyone explain why this is? I must admit if I am hungry and don't have time to eat, I'll grab a banana, on my understanding if I just peel and eat it, its free, but if I mashed it, it jumps up to a whopping 4 syns?:confused: Its not like I'm mixing it with sugar or oil so why on earth does the simple act of mashing a banana dramatically increase its syn value? Ive gotta say this has annoyed me!!

Thanks

2. Avatar

MiniMins.com Matched Content

3. sugar_lipswales

sugar_lipswales Silver Member

Start Weight:
    21st0lb
    Current Weight:
    13st4lb
    Goal Weight:
    11st0lb
    Lost(%):
    7st10lb(36.73%)
    Diet:
    Slimming World
    It may be annoying but if you're going to follow SW you have to follow all the rules for the best possible weight loss. It's not just bananas it's all fruits, something to do with the breakdown of the food, someone with a better memory will probably reply with more info lol!

4. MaisieMoodle

MaisieMoodle Full Member

Start Weight:
    13st4lb
    Current Weight:
    12st0lb
    Goal Weight:
    9st10lb
    Lost(%):
    1st4lb(9.68%)
    Diet:
    Healthy Eating.
    That's a bit bonkers! I mean, it all gets mashed up in your mouth anyway - you don't swallow it whole after all!

Would love to know the reasoning behind this if anyone knows.

5. squash&squeeze

squash&squeeze Member