What's your views on jogging pls?

Madison

Hi,
I will be on the Dukan path 2 weeks this Sunday. Lost 5 lbs in Attack and haven't weighed self since then but will this Sunday, fingers crossed for a good result as have been 100% focussed and saintly :) I started training with a group a week ago to do the Couch 2 10K jog. I must be the laziest person going and up till I started the Dukan diet my form of excercise would've been window shopping on my lunchbreak. Anyhow, the jogging's going really well so far. Last night someone asked the trainer - if we will lose weight. She said not to go by the scales but by our clothes as she has had people in the past that after a few weeks training actually gain a few pounds. She went on to say how muscle weighs heavier than fat... Now, I've heard this many times before in the past and was wondering what your views are on it. In my opinion, and I aint no scientist or fitness expert but surely a pound is a pound, whether it's muscle or fat. Don't get me wrong, I'm longing for the day when I can get back into my smaller clothes but I'm also one of those people who love to see the number on those pesky scales drop at a steady rate. Would love to hear your ideas and sorry for long winded post!

I started the c25k in January last year. I too had a big aversion to exercise but really got into running and run whenever I can even on holiday I'm so addicted now and it's all thanks to c25k. As for weightloss I don't think it made me lose any weight at all as I lost the same amount of weight whether I ran or not but it definitely helped me tone up and now helps me maintain my weight. I'm also much fitter and healthier. I also believe that a pound is a pound and ' muscle is heavier than fat' is total rubbish