Hello newbie here... and question about the Dukan Diet...

pommychic

First, let me introduce myself, my name is Andrea. I am an English girl living in New Zealand. I am about a stone/stone and a half heavier than I would like to be through quitting smoking last year. I have managed to quit the habit (20 a day for 20 years) and now I would like to get back into my jeans again! I have lurched from one diet plan to the next and a few weeks ago stumbled across the Dukan Diet.

I started the Dukan diet about two weeks ago.. I lost about 5 pounds within that period.. I wasnt super strict with the diet (I was drinking too much milk and had time of the month in that period and so went through a couple of handfuls of nuts.

I found it was very effective at me losing weight but I really struggled and I didnt feel well at all. I was really, really tired all the time and had absolutely no energy. I was getting home from work and putting my pyjamas on and falling asleep.

Usually I hit the gym about three times a week when I get home from work, but whilst I was following the Dukan diet, my energy levels were that low, there was no way I could go. I dragged myself to the gym on one occasion and after ten minutes went home as I was absolutely shattered.
Needless to say, I have stopped following the diet and am now wondering what to do. I loved seeing the results but I couldnt carry on with the way it was effecting me.
I am wondering whether I can go back to the diet but tweak it to suit me and up the carbs a bit? But how? and will I lose weight? I am also wondering whether it could have been because I wasnt taking any vitamins/supplements. I have not read the book - I am following the diet through piecing together information from the internet and websites.

Any opinions/ ideas would be welcomed! :)

Hi Pommy and well done for giving up smoking.