Student Slimmers

Hi I'm in my first year of uni and already I can feel my creeping up! Mainly due to freshers week I think and my last few weeks before I get my loan iv resorted to cheap yucky food. This term I want a game plan to kick any nasty habits and I couldn't see a student thread on here so I thought id start one. Hopefully there are a few other students out there who can help and support.

Is there anything you've found works? Or is there anything I should avoid like the plague?
Examples of shopping lists could be helpful too :) :)

I'm a student as well, but unlike many students I'm a mature student and grew up in a house where everything was cooked from scratch. We only used to have take away on someone's birthday or New Year so that's a grand total of 5 times a year. My thought of take away now is a store bought pizza you can throw in the oven, so I'm pretty good at not wasting money on cheap take aways or cheap food in general.

The thing that I will need help with is lunches to bring to uni. I usually stick with sandwiches that I've made myself, as my thermos isn't that great for keeping things hot for super long periods of time. I travel 2 hrs to uni so I'm out of the house just after 6am so hot soup from that time till about 1 or so doesn't last that long. I guess I should get used to medium heat soup and get on with it. Any advice for lunches that don't need to be heated or hot would be great as for some odd reason my ice pack lasts longer then the thermos!