Your gym routine?

Jenna88

Gold Member
I know everyone is different and that you might not necessarily follow the same routine every day but I'm new to gym going and would love to see what a typical workout for others includes. I'm pretty new to the whole thing and not sure I'm pushing myself hard enough.

Maybe include how long you spend on each piece of equipment and level or perhaps the distance?
Weights-how many kg's and how many reps?

I'm sure this question has been asked before but I'm not too hot with the search function.

Heres my training blog
http://www.minimins.com/fitness-exercise/296408-my-training-blog.html

Its quite basic at the minute but i have changed things up over the last week as i was way over training.

I wouldnt worry to much about the amount of weight you lift, just get the correct form and increase steady.

As for cardio stuff when im on the exercise bike i just put it on fat burn mode and try and keep the revs between 80-90 maybe close to 100 for the last couple of mins. On the cross trainer just start on the lowest setting and build it up abit every few sessions. On the rower we have a concept 2 one in the gym and i use it on the highest resistance 10 and try and do 2000m as fast as i can, but again i would start slow and build up.

To anyone starting the gym, I think you've gota go with a plan in mind. Unless you get a personal trainer (expensive!) then its just down to building on ur abilities and knowing where you want to end up.
If its running your into, try working up to 5k for instance. My bug bear is weights, I think even when I lose the weight (and I will lose the weight!) I'll still be quite bulky cuz I've always been strong and athletic anyway, so I tend to do lighter weights for more reps as I dont think this 'builds you up' as much.