TTfans diary and lessons learned

TTfan

Hi everyone, this isn't so much a diary, but I've been on my diet for 18 months, I'm 200g off being a BMI of 25 (although still another 8ish pounds to go to my target) and I just wanted to record some of the things I've learned along the way, so hopefully I won't fall into the same traps as I did before and regain the weight.

Lesson 1: I have always kept an eye on my weight by judging myself on how tight my clothes are, what I look like in photos etc. This is utter rubbish and doesn't work. For me, losing 3 stone has only meant a decrease from a size 16 to a 12/14, so just because I've stayed the same clothes size doesn't mean that I haven't put on loads of weight. From now on I must keep weighing myself and make sure that my weight stays constant(ish).

Lesson 2: I can't be trusted around food. I've been weighing out my food before I cook it for 18 months, but STILL if I cook something without weighing it first I'll end up with a massive portion, and once it's cooked, I'll eat it. Likewise, if I'm on my own, or bored I WILL treat myself if there is food around and once I start eating bad food I don't stop. Occasional days or weekends of gluttony are fine, but for me, maintaining this weightloss will be a life long effort.

Lesson 1: I have always kept an eye on my weight by judging myself on how tight my clothes are, what I look like in photos etc. This is utter rubbish and doesn't work. For me, losing 3 stone has only meant a decrease from a size 16 to a 12/14, so just because I've stayed the same clothes size doesn't mean that I haven't put on loads of weight. From now on I must keep weighing myself and make sure that my weight stays constant(ish).